devanalferi's Weblog

Claiming on culture(s)

Posted in Uncategorized by devanalferi on September 13, 2009

there’s something bothering my mind. About Malaysia..I know that Tari Pendet is on their commercial..But, I also saw that there’s Chinese culture on it..China do not complaining about that. In fact, chinese very proud that their culture accepted in many country..Not like Indonesian..Why we can not just say that Tari Pendet–or other cultures which belong to Melayu, not only Indonesia–is ours..together we conserve this culture..I don’t know, I just can not see the right thing beyond “sweeping-the-malaysians”-thing recently..

and, in fact is “claiming culture” is really present? Is there any patented culture in this world? *I’m asking, not making statement*

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yangoiselaluceria said, on September 22, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    nice question!
    For example keroncong.!
    *tapi kalo buat tari pendet gue jg radarada gmn gtoh kalo diambil. Susah boo belajarnya*

  2. disinidihamenulis said, on October 26, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    setujuuu! =)


Leave a comment